Blog #6

It was easy for me, as I am sure it was for everyone, to see my parents and my grandparents in Daniel H. Wilson’s “The Terrifying Truth About New Technology.” The invention of smartphones and social media, especially, are a large pill to swallow for an older generation. Growing up, as computers became more and more integrated into daily life, I used to get so frustrated when my dad would make me do something on the computer for him. Calling me a computer genius only made it worse. Just because I can open a settings menu does not mean I am a technological wizard. My dad never even tried to learn how to do the easy tasks he recruited me to do. These were very easy things to me.

Of course, it is very normal for older generations to be wary of new technology. When my dad repeatedly made me perform the simplest tasks on the computer, he probably just thought it was not a skill he needed to know. I think he understands that computers are not going away any time soon now.

For adults, having lived for a long time without a new technology, it makes sense for them to find that technology unessential to them. When they have lived without it for their entire lives, I can understand why so many adults do not see the need to learn how to use new technology. It is such an easy trap to fall into. In reality, this new technology is created to improve our lives. Just because you have lived without it just fine, it does not mean living without it is better.

Opening yourself to new technology is such an important part of getting older, in my opinion. It allows you to continue to learn about the world and connect with people outside of your generation. Wilson writes the perfect mantra for older generations to remind themselves to stay open to new technology. “It didn’t used to be simpler. It wasn’t better before. It’s not useless.”

Leave a Reply

